Michael Jackson The History Album

The HIStory album was released on June 20, 1995, and was Michael's first solo album to contain a greatest hits package along with new tracks!

In total the two-disc album contains 30 songs adding up to over 150 minutes of music! Special editions of the HIStory album were released in Canada, Germany, Holland, and France in which Michael spoke directly to his fans of these countries thanking them for their support over the years and promising to tour their countries soon.

The first disc "HIStory Begins" of this album contains 15 of Michael's number one hits - songs that made him the 'King' of the entertainment industry.

The second disc "HIStory Continues" of this album contained 15 brand new songs, 12 of which were composed and written by Michael himself. The second disc of the 'History' album also credited Michael for the first time with playing the keyboards, Synthesizer, drums and percussion, and guitar.

Special appearances on the album were made by Janet Jackson, Shaquille O'Neal, the late Notorius B.I.G, Boyz II Men, and Slash.

The album was controvercial, with many angry songs - Michael's reply to the press and allegations that had been plaguing his life and career over the previous few years, as well as had a softer edge with ballads such as "You Are Not Alone", "Earth Song", "Stranger In Moscow" and "Smile". Shortly after it's release the 'HIStory' album was pulled from the shelves due to the the controvercial lyrics in the song "They Don't Care About Us", and new copies of the album were released with a formal apology written by Michael to those who may be offended by the lyrics.

5 singles were released off of this album; "Scream", "Earth Song", "You Are Not Alone", "Stranger In Moscow", and "They Don't Care About Us". The album hit #1 in 19 countries around the world, with world wide sales of over 15 million. The "You Are Not Alone" single broke a world record when it became the first-ever single to debut at #1 on the Billboard music charts.

The track listing of 'HIStory' is as follows:

1. Billie Jean (written by Michael Jackson)
2. The Way You Make Me Feel (written by Michael Jackson)
3. Black Or White (written by Michael Jackson)
4. Rock With You (written by Rod Temperton)
5. She's Out Of My Life (written by Tom Bahler)
6. Bad (written by Michael Jackson)
7. I Just Can't Stop Loving You (written by Michael Jackson)
8. Man In The Mirror (written by Siedah Garrett & Glen Ballard)
9. Thriller (written by Rod Temperton)
10. Beat It (written by Michael Jackson)
11. The Girl Is Mine (written by Michael Jackson)
12. Remember The Time (written by Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley & Bernard Bell)
13. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (written by Michael Jackson)
14. Wanna Be Startin' Somthin' (written by Michael Jackson)
15. Heal The World (written by Michael Jackson)

1. Scream (Duet with Janet Jackson) (written by Michael and Janet Jackson, James Harris III & Terry Lewis)
2. They Don't Care About Us (written by Michael Jackson)
3. Stranger In Moscow (written by Michael Jackson)
4. This Time Around (written by Michael Jackson)
5. Earth Song (written by Michael Jackson)
6. D.S (written by Michael Jackson)
7. Money (written by Michael Jackson)
8. Come Together (written by John Lennon & Paul McCartney)
9. You Are Not Alone (written by R. Kelly)
10. Childhood (Theme from Free Willy 2) (written by Michael Jackson)
11. Tabloid Junkie (written by Michael Jackson, James Harris III & Terry Lewis)
12. 2 Bad (written by Michael Jackson)
13. HIStory (written by Michael Jackson, James Harris III & Terry Lewis)
14. Little Susie (written by Michael Jackson)
15. Smile (written by John Turner & Geoffrey Parsons)


Post a Comment